UDP continues to push for support to Paul

Roy re-elected party president for three years

Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio in a discussion with UDP Lok Sabha candidate for Shillong seat Paul Lyngdoh in the city on Saturday. (ST)

SHILLONG: Blowing the bugle for the Lok Sabha polls on April 9, the UDP general council meeting held here on Saturday re-elected former Chief Minister Dr. Donkupar Roy as the party president for the next three years, even as the party continued to press for support of like-minded parties for its Lok Sabha candidate Paul Lyngdoh.

As the outcome of Assembly and District Council elections was not favourable to the party, the new team of the party led by Roy has decided to rejuvenate the party.

The newly-elected UDP general secretary Allan Dkhar said that the only resolution passed in the meeting was to work hard and rejuvenate the party despite the party having several shortcomings.

The meeting also decided to concentrate in Garo Hills to prepare for the district council elections due within six months.

“UDP will adopt a new approach and we will rejuvenate the party in the coming days”, Dkhar said.

During the general council meeting, the party president asked the members to drum up support for party leader and legislator Paul Lyngdoh who is contesting the Shillong Lok Sabha seat.

Besides highlighting the profile of the candidate, Roy asked the UDP members to understand that it is only a person who works commits mistakes, and wanted them not to see the mistakes alone.

He also made an appeal to the likeminded parties to realize the need of having a sound regional voice in Delhi.

According to the UDP leader, the presence of Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, who is the convener of North East Regional Political Front, is an indication that the regional parties in the Northeast can try and make their voice heard in the corridors of power in Delhi.

Highlighting the need for unity, Roy urged like-minded parties to support the candidature of Lyngdoh, who is seeking to make it to Delhi. The UDP meeting elected seven working presidents, Bindo M Lanong, Paul Lyngdoh, BG Momin, Metbah Lyngdoh, Titosstarwell Chyne, Jemino Mawthoh and Moonlight Pariat. Other offices bearers elected on Saturday included seven secretaries, three joint secretaries, one treasurer, two auditors and functionaries of the party’s farmers’ wing. The meeting was attended by party leaders from all over the State.