Adamant Roshan defends resignation

SHILLONG: The State’s first woman Home Minister Roshan Warjri, who resigned on moral ground on Thursday for unabated blood letting in Garo Hills has denied that she was not [Full Article...]


Nagaland CM inspects Airport to welcome Modi

Kohima: Hectic prepara-tions are on to welcome Prime Minister Narendra Modi, during his maiden visit to Nagaland to grace the Hornbill Festival and the Nagaland Statehood Day at the Naga Heritage Village at Kisama, 12 Kms east of Kohima. Official sources said Chief Minister T R Zeliang, accompanied by Cabinet colleagues, Chief Secretary Toshi [Full Article...]


Narendra Modi not to visit Janakpur during Nepal tour

New Delhi:Prime Minis-ter Narendra Modi will only travel to Kathmandu when he will leave on Tuesday to attend the SAARC summit in Nepal, despite his wish to visit other parts of the country including Janakpur, the revered Hindu religious site. “During his last visit to Kathmandu, Prime Minister Modi had expressed a desire to [Full Article...]


Four killed, 79,000 affected in earthquake in China

Beijing: China on Sunday launched all-out rescue efforts after a 6.3-magnitude earthquake struck quake-prone Sichuan Province, killing at least four people and affecting another 79,500. Fifty-four people were injured, including six in critical condition and another five suffering severe injuries, latest updates said. Chinese leaders have urged all-out rescue efforts after the quake hit [Full Article...]


Goa crushes Pune for second win at home

Margao: FC Goa scored a goal in each half to down a fighting FC Pune City to move to the fourth place in the Indian Super League here on Saturday. Goa took the lead early in the fifth minute through Romeo Fernandes and sealed the victory in injury time courtesy substitute Miroslav Slepicka for [Full Article...]


  • The CBI trouble

    THE Supreme Court has found allegations against Ranjit Sinha, head of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), prima facie credible. Sinha has been asked not to interfere in the probe and trial of the 2G spectrum scam. The Court has said that its decision was taken to protect faith in the institution and the reputation of the CBI director. In reply, Sinha has said that no personal aspersions have been cast on him. It is difficult to understand why the CBI chief should try in this manner to wiggle [Full Article...]