Awards for state cops

11 police officials get recognition

SHILLONG: Several Meghalaya police personnel received various awards on the occasion of Independence Day. The recipients of police medal for gallantry are Vivekanand Singh, Sub Divisional Police Officer, Gopison R Marak constable, TC Chacko deputy superintendent of police, Tony M Sangma, sub-inspector and Phil Dkhar constable.
While Singh had received the award once earlier, on two occasions, Chacko had received the same award in the past.
When contacted to know the courageous acts of these police personnel, a senior police official said their names were recommended by the police headquarters and he was not privy to their acts of gallantry.
The recipient of President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service is Hamarbajop Wahlang, deputy Superintendent of Police, SB head quarters.
Mariahom Kharkrang, special superintendent of police and Joyti Wahlang, deputy superintendent of police, SB headquarters received Police Medal (PM) for Meritorious Service.
Meanwhile, three sub-ordinate officers of the Meghalaya Civil Defence and Home Guards organisation have been named as the recipients for the Home Guards & Civil Defence Medal for Meritorious Service on Tuesday on the eve of Independence Day.
The three officials named for the prestigious medal are Starlingdro Jyrwa, Assistant Deputy Controller of Civil Defence Nongstoin, Milon Lyngdoh, Sub Inspector of District Training Centre, Nongstoin and Hemilson I Sangma, Sub Inspector of Border Wing Home Guards Battalion, Mawdiangdiang.
The trio joined fifty other personnel of the Home Guards and Civil Defence organisation from all over the country that has been selected for the service medal.

error: Content is protected !!