News Alerts
prev next

First session of Pak’s 15th Parliament on Aug 13

Islamabad: The maiden session of Pakistan’s newly-elected Parliament will be held on Monday, 19 days after Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party emerged as the single largest in the general elections.
On the first day of the National Assembly (NA), Parliament’s lower house, the new members will take oath. This will be followed by the elections of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker.
The NA will then proceed to elect the leader of the house (Prime Minister) within the next couple of days, depending on the schedule for nominations issued by the Speaker. Khan is poised to become the prime minister as the PTI has claimed the support of at least 180 lawmakers in the house of 342, including 272 which went to the polls on July 25.
In addition, there are 60 seats reserved for women and 10 seats for religious minorities in the NA.
Pak President to
conveve NA session
President Mamnoon Hussain will summoned the session of 15th NA following a recommendation sent by caretaker Prime Minister Nasirul Mulk.
The order approved by the president would now be sent to the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs.
The ministry would determine the time for the session. Under the Constitution, the first session of the NA should be convened within 21 days of the election.
PTI spokesman Fawad Chaudhry said that Khan was eager to take oath on August 14, the country’s Independence Day. But he may not be take oath before August 15 due to formalities involving his election by the NA.
Geo News reported that President Mamnoon Hussain has decided to postpone his visit to Scotland in order to administer the oath to the next prime minister. Mamnoon was scheduled to visit Edinburgh from August 16 to August 19.
“The president will now embark on his trip after the oath-taking ceremony,” the report said.
Speaker Ayaz Sadiq would administer the oath to the newly elected candidates. After this, Sadiq would himself take oath as the member of the NA.
Sadiq would then oversee the election of the new Speaker in the house. Finally, under the new Speaker, the Deputy Speaker of the NA would be elected.
The name of the new Pakistan Prime Minister would be announced by the newly sworn-in Speaker of the house, as per The Express Tribune report.
Pakistan went to polls on July 25 and Imran Khan-led Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party had emerged as the single largest party with 116 seats after the ECP released the complete results for 270 of 272 NA constituencies.
The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) which won 64 seats came second, while the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) bagged 43 seats and finished third.
The PTI has claimed that it had enough numbers to form the government at the centre in coalition with other smaller parties.
The party on Monday formally announced Khan as the new Pakistan Prime Ministerial candidate. (Agencies)

You might also like More from author


error: Content is protected !!