News Alerts
prev next

Conrad Sangma takes oath as Chief Minister of Meghalaya

11 ministers too take oath

SHILLONG: The president of National People’s Party (NPP) and the Lok Sabha MP from Tura, Conrad Sangma on Tuesday took oath as the  Chief Minister of Meghalaya. He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by the Governor, Ganga Prasad in the Raj Bhavan in Shillong along with eleven other members of the  council of ministers.

The new council of ministers in Meghalaya after taking oath on Tuesday. Photo: Sanjib Bhattacharjee.

Conrad heads the NPP-led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government that has United Democratic Party (UDP), Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP), People’s Democratic Front (PDF), BJP and an Independent MLA, Samuel M Sangma as other constituents.

The ruling coalition has total 34 MLAs in the 60-member Meghalaya House including 19 from the NPP, six from the UDP, four from the PDF, two from the HSPDP, two from the BJP besides the lone Independent MLA.

The ministers who were also administered oath of office and secrecy included:  Prestone  Tynsong (NPP)
James Sangma (NPP), A L Hek (BJP), Sniawbhalang Dhar (NPP), Comingone Ymbon (NPP), Metbah Lyngdoh (UDP), Lakmen Rymbui (UDP), Kyrmen Shylla (UDP), Banteidor Lyngdoh (PDF), Hamlet Dohling  (PDF) and  Samlinv Malngiang (HSPDP).

The oath taking ceremony was held in presence of a host of dignitaries that included BJP president Amit Shah, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Nagaland Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio, BJP’s key strategist in the Northeast Dr Himanta Bishwa Sarma among others.


You might also like More from author


error: Content is protected !!