News Alerts
prev next

Simultaneous counting in Tripura, Nagaland

Agartala/ Kohima: Counting of votes cast in the assembly elections in teo other northeastern states of Tripura and Nagaland will be taken up on Saturday along with the counting of votes in Meghalaya.
Polling was held for 59 of 60 assembly seats in Tripura and nagaland for different reasons. The counting will begin at 8 am and results are expected by the afternoon. Tripura went to the polls on February 18 while elections in Nagaland were held on February 27.
In Tripura, two exit polls have suggested the BJP dethroning the Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M)-led government that has had an uninterrupted run since 1993.
Ahead of Saturday’s counting, both the CPI-M and the BJP claimed that they will form the next government in the state.
Balloting in Tripura’s Charilam has been deferred to March 12 after the death of a CPI-M candidate.
Voting in Nagaland was held in 59 constituencies as three-time Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party has been declared elected unopposed from Northern Angami-II constituency.

You might also like More from author


error: Content is protected !!