News Alerts
prev next

2 senior NPP leaders quit party, set to join BJP


TURA: Two former legislators and senior NPP functionaries in the Garo Hills have resigned from the party after being denied tickets to contest the upcoming state elections early next year.

Former MLAs of Kharkutta and Bajengdoba, Omillo K Sangma and John Manner Marak respectively, have tendered their resignation from the NPP. They are expected to join the BJP on Friday during a large public rally being organised to welcome them at Mendal village of Bajengdoba constituency in which BJP state president Shibun Lyngdoh is also expected to attend.

The BJP clearly appears to be the biggest beneficiary of the on-going bickering for party tickets in the NPP. Only recently, a former NPP MLA from Baghmara, Satto R Marak, had resigned after being denied the party ticket and joined the BJP.

Lashing out at NPP President and Tura MP Conrad K Sangma, both the disgruntled leaders accused their chief of autocratic rule of the party.

Omillo equated his party president’s functioning with the rule of North Korean dictator Kum Jong Un and said that founder members were being mistreated and denied tickets which he claimed would lead to the downfall of the party.

“His style of functioning has forced him to abandon party founders and induct new NPP (Non-Permanent Party) like H S Shylla, Brening Sangma and Augustine Marak who are rolling ex-MLAs,” an angry Omillo Sangma stated in his resignation letter.

Another disappointed leader John Manner Marak said that he along with Late P A Sangma had worked hard to build the NCP and later NPP in the Garo Hills.

“I left my parent party UDP after Late P A Sangma invited me to join him and build a new party. Now I am being cast aside and denied a ticket by his son,” said John Manner Marak.

Omillo K Sangma had defeated then Kharkutta strongman and Congress leader Elstone D Marak in the 2008 elections while John Manner Marak had defeated senior Congress minister and heavyweight Chamberline Marak in Bajengdoba.

However, neither of the two could retain their seats in the 2013 state elections with sitting Bolsong MDC and Independent candidate Brigady Marak defeating John Manner while Congress candidate Cherak Momin defeated Omillo K Sangma.


You might also like More from author


error: Content is protected !!