News Alerts
prev next

Rebel legislators in dilemma over exit time

SHILLONG: The legislators who are set to leave their respective parties are in a dilemma over the timing of their exit to join the parties of their choice.
Legislators Rowell Lyngdoh, Prestone Tynsong, Sniawbhalang Dhar, Ngaitlang Dhar and Comingone Ymbon are waiting for an appropriate time to join NPP after leaving the Congress.
The KHADC CEM and suspended Congress member, PN Syiem, is set to join PDF.
The main reason for the delay is due to the anti-defection law as per the 10th Schedule of the Constitution that states that the legislators cannot join any other political party unless he or she resigns as MLA.
Sources said the legislators would lose the MLA schemes and other benefits, including salaries, once they resign and hence they wanted to wait till the end of the term.
Sources said some legislators may wait for the announcement of the elections to join other political parties without resigning from their posts.
When contacted, Syiem said he will resign as MLA in due course of time and will not wait for the announcement of the polls.
He said since there is not much time left for the polls, he will opt for resigning from the Assembly instead of waiting for the notification of polls.
Rowell said he wanted to complete the current term.
However, Lyngdoh said a decision will be taken jointly by the rebel MLAs whether to resign after the Assembly session.
MLA scheme released
Earlier, one of the reasons for the dilemma on the part of the rebel MLAs was related to the delay in the release of MLA scheme of Rs 2 crore for 2017-18.
However, the MLA scheme was released after the recent meeting of the state-level committee chaired by Chief Minister Mukul Sangma.
The legislators are on the job of submitting the proposal for schemes before the announcement of polls.

You might also like More from author


error: Content is protected !!