News Alerts
prev next

Mukul rules out threat to MUA-II Govt

CM accepts Ymbon’s resignation; no fresh induction in Cabinet

SHILLONG: Chief Minister Mukul Sangma has ruled out any threat to his government following the resignation of Cabinet minister Comingone Ymbon.
Ymbon’s resignation came before the Assembly session starting from Friday and also the elections to be held after two months.
While NPP has served a resolution to remove the Speaker, many Congress MLAs are set to leave the party.
Speaking to The Shillong Times on Tuesday, the chief minister, however, expressed confidence over surviving the adversities without elaborating the strategy.
The meeting of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) and the Meghalaya United Alliance (MUA) partners to discuss the strategy for the three-day Assembly session is expected on Thursday.
The chief minister said Ymbon’s resignation will be forwarded to the governor.
To a question, the chief minister hinted that he may not induct any Congress legislator for the remaining two months before the state goes to the polls.
However, he said he would discuss the matter with MPCC chief DD Lapang.
Sangma said since the session is scheduled from Friday, he would entrust any other minister to have the additional portfolios held by Ymbon.
To a query on Ymbon’s intention to leave the party, the chief minister said, “There may be some compulsions on his part and it is for you to interpret the happenings.”
Ymbon was reluctant
Asked whether he had any inkling that Ymbon would resign, Sangma said four months ago before his induction as a Cabinet minister, he was reluctant to be in the ministry and moreover, he was unwell.
“However, we had to provide space for the new faces so that they will get exposure and experience,” Sangma said.
Cong not in favour of disqualification
The chief minister said that the party would not prefer the rebel Congress legislators to be disqualified as time is short for the assembly polls though the party is closely monitoring their activities.
Besides KHADC CEM and Congress legislator P N Syiem who is set to join PDF, other Congress legislators who will join NPP include Rowell Lyngdoh, Prestone Tynsong, Sniawbhalang Dhar and Ngaitlang Dhar.
Earlier, Tynsong had attended public meetings convened by NPP.
“It is very much evident from the public meeting about the change of allegiance and the Supreme Court is very clear that any legislator who is elected from a particular party cannot deviate from the programmes and policies of that political party,” the chief minister said.
Reiterating that the party, however, is not in favour of disqualification of such MLAs, Sangma asserted that the voters will give a befitting reply.
He also said six Independent legislators will join the Congress party to contest the upcoming polls.

You might also like More from author