News Alerts
prev next

Assam elections: AGP comes out with first list of 25 candidates

Guwahati: Asom Gana Parishad, BJP’s Assam Assembly election ally, on Thursday announced the first list of its 25 candidates for the hustings including the names of former chief minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta, former ministers and its president Atul Bora. The regional party will also be announcing shortly the names of other candidates in those constituencies where it will have friendly contests with the BJP, AGP president Atul Bora told reporters here. Among the 25 contestants are former two-time chief minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta (Barhampur), ex-ministers Brindaban Goswami (Tezpur), Renupama Rajkhowa (Teok), Pradeep Hazarika (Amguri), Pabindra Deka (Patacharkuchi), Dr Kamala Kanta Kalita (Chaygaon), Ramendra Narayan Kalita (Guwahati West), Bora said.
Others include sitting MLAs Binod Gowala (Sarupathar), Utpal Dutta (Lakhimpur), Prabin Hazarika (Bwiswanath), Phani Bhusan Choudhury (Bongaigaon), Bhupen Rai (Abhayapuri-North), Mukundaram Choudhury (Kalaigaon), Kesab Mahanta (Kaliabor). Besides party president Atul Bora (Bokakhat), the others are Bhabendra Nath Bharali (Dergaon-SC), Naren Sonowal (Naharkatia), Dr Ali Azam Sheikh (Bilasipara-East), Rabin Banikya (Abhayapuri-South), Gunindra Nath Das (Barpeta), Jyotiprasad Das (Boko-SC), Satyabrata Kalita (Kamalpur), Habibur Rahman (Dalgaon), Ranjit Deka (Lahorighat) and Ziauddin Ahmed (Jamunamukh).
The contestants have been selected in the interest of the party and considering their winning possibility of seats as per reports given by survey done by the party, the AGP leader said.
There have been 15 years of lawlessness here under the Congress with the government failing to protect people’s life and property.” “As we cannot form government on our own and the BJP invited us to join them for bringing a change the people have been wanting, we have come together to defeat Congress,” Bora asserted. He said the AGP-BJP combine targeted to win 86 of the 126 Assembly seats by garnering the non-Congress votes.
The AGP president also appealed party workers who went away or have distanced themselves to set aside their differences and return to the party fold to strengthen it and help the party to win. Today several persons, including former Director General of Police Dilip Bora, Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuba Chatra Parishad former president Dilip Patgiri, actress Dorin Hazarika and writer Diwas Phookan joined AGP at the press meet.  (PTI)

You might also like More from author


error: Content is protected !!