- Advertisement -

Union Govt notifies new rules on babus’ transfer

Ministers in Meghalaya, Assam excluded from panels that decide transfers of IAS, IPS officers

New Delhi: In a major move, the Centre has notified new rules to exclude ministers from the panel that decides on transfers of IAS and IPS officers in the joint Assam-Meghalaya cadre.
“The new change applies to only Assam-Meghalaya cadre where two governments are involved,” a senior official of the Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) said on Friday.
Officials also clarified that the new rules do not apply to AGMUT cadre (Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Mizoram and Union Territories). The Centre has recently bifurcated Manipur-Tripura cadre leaving Assam-Meghalaya as the only joint cadre in the country.
As per All India Services (Joint Cadres) Rules, 1972, there shall be a Committee consisting of a representative of each of the governments of the constituent states, to be called the Joint Cadre Authority (JCA), for postings of Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Police Service (IPS) and Indian Forest Service (IFoS) officers.
The representatives of the governments of the constituent states may either be members of an all-India service or ministers in the council of ministers of the constituent states, the 1972 rules say.
However, the new rules notified on Tuesday by DoPT say the representatives of the governments of the constituent states ‘shall be members of All India Service’. The new rules have excluded participation of a minister in the JCA. (PTI)

error: Content is protected !!