News Alerts
prev next


National TT: Archana retains sub junior girls title

Kakinada: Manav Thakkar of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board Academy (PSPBA) beat Parth Virmani of Delhi 4-1 to win the sub-junior boys’ title while Archana Kamath Girish of Karnataka downed Varuni Jaiswal of Andhra Pradesh 4-2 to retain the sub-junior girls’ crown in the 76th Cadet and Sub-Junior National Table Tennis Championships at the Cherukuri Convention Centre at Rajahmundry on Saturadya. PSPBA’s Jeho Himnakulhpuingheta defeated team mate Alberto Lrruta 4-2 for the Cadet Boys and Delhi’s Vanshika Bhargava downed Diya Chitale of Maharashtra 4-2 in the Cadet Girls final for their maiden title-trophies.

Shankar Das surges ahead

Kolkata: Local lad Shankar Das of Kolkata fired a timely seven-under 65 to surge ahead and establish a two-shot lead in the penultimate round of the Rs 1.5 crore McLeod Russel Tour Championship at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club on Saturday. Das totalled 13-under 203 to edge ahead of Delhi lad Rashid Khan, who shot a 71 in the third round. In front of a cheering home crowd, Das (68-70-65), who was overnight tied sixth, shot his best score of the week on day three as he came up with an eagle and eight birdies against three bogeys. He began his day on a bright note with an eight-foot birdie conversion on the first but only to card bogeys on the second and third.

Mathew, Kheta star attractions at Kolkata 25k RUn

Kolkata: Railway man Soji Mathew will rekindle his rivalry with Nitender Singh Rawat and Kheta Ram as the trio will vie for top honours among other athletes in the inugural Tata Steel Kolkata 25K run here on Sunday. In the women’s section, former Asian Games gold medalist Sudha Singh who clinched the 10k race last year will be a frontrunner along with the fellow athlete Kavita Raut of Maharashtra. Mathew had faced a stiff competition from fellow Indian Nitender Singh Rawat and Kheta Ram in the Delhi Half Marathon.


The headline for the news item “Ardhendu Chaudhuri Memorial Cricket Tourney final on January 3” in ST dated December 27, 2014 erroneously appeared as “Ardhendu Chaudhuri Memorial Cricket tourney on January 3”. The error is regretted

You might also like More from author


error: Content is protected !!