News Alerts
prev next

Manik Sarkar to be sworn in as Tripura CM on Wednesday

From Our Correspondent

Agartala: Manik Sarkar, who was elected as leader of Left Front’s legislator party on Monday, is all set to take oath as Chief Minister for the fourth consecutive term.

As per the schedule, the seventh Left Front government will take oath at Raj Bhavan here on Wednesday.

Party sources said, Left Front convener Khagen Das proposed the name of Manik Sarkar as the leader of Left Front legislator party and it was accepted by all the newly elected Front legislators.

After reelecting the leader of the Left Front, Manik Sarkar thanked all the newly elected legislators present there and exhorted them to work for the betterment of the people.

After the meeting of newly elected legislators, Left Front convener Khagen Das and CPM party secretary Bijan Dhar went to Raj Bhavan and informed about the decision of the legislator party.

To pave the way for formation of new government, the Governor dissolved the tenth Assembly.

Chief Minister, who tendered resignation to the Governor, was asked to remain in office till the formation of the new government.

Though the Left Front is tight-lipped over the composition of the council of ministers, sources claimed almost all the ministers of the sixth Left Front ministry will be included in the new ministry.

Entry of Anil Sarkar, Badal Chowdhury, Aghore Debbarma, Badal Chowdhury, Tapan Chakraborty, Khagendra Jamatia, Bijita Nath, Sahid Chowdhury, Jitendra Chowdhury in the seventh Left Front ministry is almost final.

Besides, the lone winner from CPI Manindra Reang is all set to join the new ministry, according to sources.

There are speculations that former minister Bijoy Laxmi Sinha who won the election this time might be included in the ministry.

You might also like More from author