News Alerts
prev next

List of Cong candidates after New Year

By Our Reporter

 SHILLONG: The Congress party would be announcing the list of party candidates for the upcoming Assembly election only after New Year.

Congress sources on Sunday informed that the three-member screening committee led by a senior Congress Working Committee (CWC) member is scheduled to meet in the coming days to look into the list of the party candidates prepared by the MPCC State Election Committee.

MPCC president DD Lapang and Chief Minister Dr Mukul Sangma are members of the screening committee.

When asked if the AICC has appointed the CWC member who would be heading the screening committee, the sources denied the same.

“After conducting a detailed study of the ticket aspirants from various constituencies, the screening committee would submit the final list to AICC president Sonia Gandhi for final approval,” the sources said.

The sources also attributed the delay in the announcement of the list of candidates to the problem of many ticket aspirants in majority of the constituencies.

“The party is intentionally delaying the announcement in order to give limited time to those candidates who would be denied the party ticket to campaign against the party’s official nominee,” the sources said.

Indications are that the party is facing the problem of ‘multiple choice’ in almost all constituencies in Garo Hills and some constituencies in Khasi-Jaintia Hills including Shella, Pynursla, Mawryngkneng, Mawthadraishan, Umroi, Umsning, Khliehriat and Mawkynrew.

The Congress would have a particularly tough choice in Rajabala where former Minister Sayeedullah Nongrum is trying for a hat-trick of wins and is facing stiff challenge for the ticket from Abdus Saleh, who is believed to have the blessings of the Chief Minister.

You might also like More from author