News Alerts
prev next

Cabinet nod for 3 new universities in State

By Our Reporter

 SHILLONG: The Cabinet on Thursday approved three Bills for setting up of two private universities and a State university.

Informing this after the Cabinet meeting, Education Minister Prof RC Laloo said the first Bill is related to the setting up of the Meghalaya State Technical University which would have its headquarter in Tura.

“We are going to table this Bill in the Autumn Session itself so that we would be able to start the ground work for setting up of this technical university at the earliest,” Prof Laloo said.

Meanwhile, the Education Minister informed that the other two Bills are related to setting up of two private universities – the International Open University and the Rajit Lal University – in the State, while adding that these two Bills would also be tables during the Autumn session.

You might also like More from author